Motorcycle Hand Signals

RMETeeJay

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
I've been driving on dirt roads since I could drive, but I'm fairly new to wheeling on technical trails. Last time out, I noticed that motorcyclists on the trail were using hand signals. I hadn't seen that before, so I looked it up. Are there other signals (besides the Jeep wave ;)) that I should be aware of? I am aware of the 4WD rules of the road.

Trail-Hand-Signals.jpg

Reactions: TJScott
I've been driving on dirt roads since I could drive, but I'm fairly new to wheeling on technical trails. Last time out, I noticed that motorcyclists on the trail were using hand signals. I hadn't seen that before, so I looked it up. Are there other signals (besides the Jeep wave ;)) that I should be aware of? I am aware of the 4WD rules of the road.

View attachment 253951

514D3DA6-1DE3-4B5E-8741-DC38E11CE5E0.jpeg

• Haha
Reactions: RMETeeJay
For woods riders, the rise of side x sides has really heightened awareness for hand signals.

I spent this morning riding single track in Tennessee on my KTM 300, one way single track is all that lights my fire on a bike...but many recreational areas need the revenue of other enthusiasts.

Signaling, and watching for signals, whether you are in your jeep or any off road vehicle, can be important. For us guys in a jeep, we are all about making it more capable....for many of the bike guys, it is all about faster, and there are some unbelievably fast people out there.

I’ve known of several pretty scary incidents....the more universal it becomes and practiced the better.

I refrain from using the jeep waive on trails and instead use hand signals. I go on a whim so its always just me and I just show a closed fist to oncoming traffic. it is nice to know when the first side by side coming at me indicates how many more are hauling ass around a blind corner coming at me behind him though.

View attachment 253951