Need some help on which direction to go and what CB radio to buy

Jacket4256

TJ Enthusiast
So I am new to the off-roading world, and me and my little one go on Jeep adventures and for the most part we stick to the paved highways and go see cool things or off in the smokies.

We have started to go on some sanctioned jeep rides and also would like to do some forest road exploring on our own some. I think for the most part people in my neck of the woods run with CBs on Jeep get togethers, but I don't know where to start in looking for one and what I need ???

So if someone can point me in the right direction that would be awesome.

I have put some thought in to buying one of there https://www.garmin.com/en-US/p/561286 just for piece of mind but the monthly payment kind of pushes me away when its something that will not get used all that often.

If they're really using CBs, then the Uniden 520 is a cheap and handy unit. Paired with a firestik antenna. You can get a package deal if you prefer one-stop shopping
https://www.rightchannelradios.com/products/1955-2006-jeep-cb-radio-kit
If they're not using CBs, then they are likely using a HAM/GRMS radio. Cant suggest a good one as I dont know enough about them yet.

Reactions: Jacket4256
People have been exploring for years without satellite rescue buttons. Just use some common sense and go prepared, tell people where you are going and for how long and you'll be fine. Most clubs have a list of required equipment, that's a great place to get an idea of what you should look into. Obviously it changes from place to place but make sure you have the basics like a first aid kit.

If they're really using CBs, then the Uniden 520 is a cheap and handy unit. Paired with a firestik antenna. You can get a package deal if you prefer one-stop shopping
https://www.rightchannelradios.com/products/1955-2006-jeep-cb-radio-kit