Treeman72

Hello to fellow TJ owners. I’m new to owning any Jeep. Bought my first one roughly 3 weeks ago. Have not had a chance to go off-road, as of yet.
From what I have read and seen when I was looking, I got lucky as this one has a little surface rust.

A little about me, I’m 46, getting started with a Jeep a little later than most. I have some mechanical ability but haven’t done much lately because I do not have a garage (yet). I have already read some great advice on here from members and looking forward to more. Also I am new to forums, so if I make mistakes let me know what they are so I can improve.

Now to what most on here want to hear about, the Jeep. It is a 2000 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara edition with the 4.0 I6 automatic. From the build sheet it came with Dana 30 front and Dana 35 rear axles with 3.07 ratio. The frame is solid. It was stock when I got it, have added a new front bumper from EAG with 3X3 led fog lights and a grill cover. Looking forward to all the mods that can be done to it.
Thanks for all the advice in advance,
Daryl
65B51857-CAF3-4310-908C-33DF3BAB1277.jpeg

1A2797E1-B576-4FF6-9BB6-F29864FC2DC4.jpeg

B1BABF4B-CD06-48C9-897D-5EC794F490E5.jpeg

Welcome to the club. My jeep started life with a 30/35 3.07 combo as well. My initial advice would be don't toss bigger tires on it until you can sort out the gear ratio. You will notice a dump in power right away. A cheaper alternative to re gearing is keeping your eyes out on your local craigslist for someone who is selling a set of axles with the ratio you want. If you find a 30/35 set its plug and play. A Rubicon set will require a bit of extra work such as shortening drive shafts.

Once again congratulations on the purchase. These things are really fun to wrench on. Only downside is your credit cards will be maxed out in no time once you get going. :risas3:

Last edited:
Reactions: Kiwi TJ
Thanks Alex01!