Newbie TJ Owner

jeepXcore

TJ Enthusiast
Hey all,

I've loved Jeeps since I was a kid and saw the Jeep Cherokee on that crappy TV reboot of "Land Of the Lost" in the 90's, the appreciation never deminished. However, in high school, I experienced a new found appreciation for Volkswagen Golfs/GTIs. I've been driving them for the past 10 years and am pretty entrenched in the import tuner community.

Currently have a 2013 MK6 GTI that I've done a few common mods to(Stage 2 ECU Flash, Intake, complete turboback exhaust set up, upgraded Audi R8 coilpacks. I love it...but it's awful in the snow with all the torque(282 tq at the wheels in the frontwheel drive car doesn't get you anywhere in the snow). I debated trading it in for a Golf R with awd...but if it 'aint broke, why fix it?. So I decided I'd look into getting a beat up SUV that I wasn't planning on racking a lot of miles on to get to my job in the city 2 miles from my house(Camden's roads are TRASH and I cringe everytime I have to drive my GTI on them) or for if the roads are dicey due to inclement weather.

So this is where I figured "hey, why not satisfy that craving you had to own a Jeep?". I had been browsing on and off for the past couple years specifically for Wranglers, and I finally figured I could afford one in the 9K ballpark. I heard TJ's were some of the best, most reliable generation of Wranglers. I looked at a 2.5L 2000 TJ, but I hated how underpowered it felt. Next, I came across this one:
006dfa0a493c4b8044f7ce921d2_zpse4jipuor.jpg