Noise, shaking, and mild vibrations at speeds above 40 mph

pixologics

TJ Enthusiast
Hi, I recently purchased a Jeep Wrangler TJ 6cyl 1998 with 160k miles on it. Some percentage of miles were from being towed with RV by the previous owner. I'm new to Jeep TJ and while purchasing I did not take it too fast to be able to realize the issues related to noise, shaking and vibrations. It has pretty brand new tires 31" size and have maybe around 3k miles on them.
There is no lift and is stock mostly with hard top. It is making me crazy with the kind of loud noise and shaking that happens at speed above 40mph. Also, at 3rd gear it shakes as if it in wrong gear (which I believe is not). I am not new to stick shifts but am new to SUV stick shifts and that too Jeep. I've tried to match shift gears based on near or close to the gear shift light indicator i.e. to keep it under 2400 rpm mostly.

Questions: Is it normal for a all Jeep TJ to have such symptoms (loud noise kind of unbearable), shaking up (not death wobble) and vibrations that could be felt even under seat? Its pretty much not drive able at high speeds (60mph) without having a head ache. Is it normal?
If not and then what should I get checked for?
Also, are there experts on this forum from Inland Empire, CA area who could see it and suggest?

Last edited:
Check steering linkage. Towing is rough on that. And get the tires balanced. Try and explain how touchy a TJ is for balanced tires to the Tech.

Jeep TJ sound issue

TJ sound issue 2

Attaching 2 sample video link above (audio) only. Started jeep from 0mph and accelerated while shifting gears from 1 till 4 gear and max speed was 48mph. Any suggestions on what kind of noise are these? And if it's normal for a Tj to sound this loud at 45mph

Some pictures of underbody for troubleshooting.
IMG20210127083542.jpg
IMG20210127083518.jpg
IMG20210127083512.jpg
IMG20210127083502.jpg
IMG20210127081829.jpg
IMG20210127083457.jpg
IMG20210127081550.jpg
IMG20210127081535.jpg