California NorCal: Help with Lift Install for Beginner?

tomtaylz

LJR Addict
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
I just ordered the DPG OME Ultimate kit from Dirk at DPG Offroad. it should be here in about two weeks. I may also get BMB brakes to install soon. I live in the city (SF) and I'm a huge beginner at mechanically inclined things.

There are shops around the bay which can do the install for me if it comes to it but I'd rather do it myself because:
A. If something goes wrong on the trail, I can have an idea on whats going on and fix it myself
B. The shops around here charge what sounds like a silly amount of money for something which sounds like it isn't too bad from a mechanical perspective ($140/hr labor adds up quick :eek:)

However, being in the city without a garage or tools, and not really knowing what I'm doing, its beyond my comfort zone.

If anyone has the tools and space and is willing to walk me through it/help out, I can bring beer and throw in a few hundred dollars to sweeten the deal, if someone has the time just let me know what you would be comfortable with. I can gladly travel a couple of hours away too.

Tom

Reactions: MaloStapalo
Good luck ! I’m up in Orland by Chico.
For tools you could try AutoZone cause they will bill you for the tool but they give you credit when you bring it back.
What size lift is the OME?

We have walked many members through their lift upgrades and would definitely do the same for you. Then we would help you spend the hundreds of dollars you saved on some other upgrades :)

Reactions: JamesAndTheSahara
We have walked many members through their lift upgrades and would definitely do the same for you. Then we would help you spend the hundreds of dollars you saved on some other upgrades :)