Not new to the TJ, but new around here

Vidar

TJ Enthusiast
Hello everyone, joining you from central Pennsylvania. I fix computers for a living, and only started working on cars out of necessity. That necessity is I decided to buy a TJ and am generally broke. I hate paying people to do things, so I try my best to figure it out. The only work I've paid for on my Jeep in 17 years is welding sections of the frame, which I helped do and my mechanic taught me how to weld, and currently paying a machine shop only for the machine work on my engine.

My Jeep story:
I purchased my 1997 Sport as the second owner back in 2003 with 91K on it. It has served me well for the last 17 years. It is (well...was) my daily driver, and has been all along. I haven't done any mods to it, mainly just the regular Jeep maintenance (new exhaust manifold multiple times, new radiator, exhaust system, etc.). A few years ago, the frame rotted out between the wheels so I got to learn how to weld and put SafeTcaps on both sides, but the rest of the frame is pretty solid with the exception of the rear upper coil mounts.
A few weeks ago, at just shy of 210,000, it started to tap. After investigation, I found that piston 5 decided to break its skirt. Currently, the engine is out, and the block and head are at the machine shop getting tanked, bored, and machined. Once it's done, I'll do the rebuild myself. I've never done it before, but looking forward to it.