O2 Sensor Identification & Clarification

EJD

TJ Overlander
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
I'm new to O2 Sensors and have recently discovered I apparently have a Cali-emissions Jeep with the 4 O2 Sensors, i'm looking to replace my upstream sensors as I believe they make be affecting a couple of things and I needed some help ID'ing which ones are which.

https://ibb.co/hFwagF
https://ibb.co/cn4sva
https://ibb.co/m9Zsva

Can anyone tell me which sensors are in the photos I just took? I'm not sure if i'm looking at upstream or downstream...or which ones are Bank 1 and which are Bank 2? I didn't just want to assume anything so I figured i'de ask.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Oh... I misunderstood. I see what you're asking now.

Oxygen 02 Sensor FAQ and Information - JeepForum.com.jpg

Reactions: brown_mule and EJD
Dude, thats perfect! I could not find that diagram anywhere...
Thanks!

Dude, thats perfect! I could not find that diagram anywhere...
Thanks!

Haha, no problem! I was just confused. I thought you were asking which parts you needed, when you were actually asking which O2 sensors go where. I understand how confusing it can be with the Bank 1, Bank 2 stuff.

Reactions: EJD
Haha, no problem! I was just confused. I thought you were asking which parts you needed, when you were actually asking which O2 sensors go where. I understand how confusing it can be with the Bank 1, Bank 2 stuff.
So the upstream/ downstream, that's in relaishionship to the Cat? I only ask because I've seen them labeled pre-cat/ post-cat.

That's the diagram I used when I replaced mine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
You also have a Cali version?
Yeah, I initially just thought there was 1 up and 1 down...but I guess i'm one of the lucky ones with 2 on each side!

Is it best to replace both ups or both downs at a time? I'm just trying to be proactive about replacing old sensors (160k), and i've been having some weird stalling issues, i've been told I might be running rich.