Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Rubicon

Votes: 8 72.7%
  • Willys

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

xXshutterflyXx

Hi All,

Just wanted to say hello :wave: and give a thanks for the add!

I have been saving my @$$ off and finally have $5k to start a TJ!!!
I know its not a lot to work with, but I'm excited to finally be able to start my search.

For me, I have basic car maintenance experience.
You know, the minor repair/replacements under my belt such as tires, batteries, disk breaks, oil changes, heater core, belts, headlights, ect. I'd like to expand that knowledge and work on a TJ while doing so.

I'm hoping that with your help, you could give advice and guide me on when/where/how to find the best TJ for my $$$ (I know is easier said then done here in NJ with all these rust buckets) around NJ, PA areas.

What I've been thinking about are the 04 Rubicons (i know more $$$) but i think i might want a 2004-2005 model. So, some new/ more modern amenities, but diffidently NOT like a JK.
For me, I know that my Jeep would be my daily driver, but i don't drive much (under 1k a month) as i work from home and most things are walking/biking distance for me. I'd like to take it up to places like Rausch Creek and Jenny Jump (I've been to these places on quad) so i know its a mixture of some small/medium rocks, dirt/mud and some narrow tree trails too. With all this in mind, I want to start small and build for my terrain as needed. I know WAY too many people who have mall crawlers (mostly JKs near me,to be honest) that are all done up with anything and everything and never do anything but drive the parkway... :-/
Pretty dumb to me...

ANYWAY... if anyone has some advice on where to start, some tips or ideas they feel would be beneficial for me for my type of build and experience to share (especially if your riding around these trails too with your rigs)... I'm more than happy to take it!!!

*(One things for sure, I want the 4.0 as i had that in my old XJ and it was fun to drive)*