Opinion on rear diff pattern

Jeepster78

TJ Enthusiast
Just finished my rear super 35 gear and locker install and want to see if these patterns look ok. Im new to doing gears and wanted some seasoned tj enthusiasts opinions if they should be fine and leave them or need to adjusted some more. Backlash is set at 6-7 thousandths and was checked in 4 different spots and the pinion nut is at 10 in lbs when rotating the gears.

FAF78750-E07C-4534-B932-5B1E7E88E9B6.jpeg

6B8D3845-1AC2-48C7-A54E-70D119D211AD.jpeg

• Wow
Reactions: JMT and Jablinski
Way too deep. Take out 10-15 thou and see where it puts you
When you say it’s too deep are you referring to the coast side pattern that creates a sharp straight line that is by the root of the gear tooth? I have watched your videos which were very helpful if you are bfh garage. Also with the pinion nut it say in the specs to have it 10-20 in lbs in rotation for old gears and 20-30 in lbs for new gears. Mine was at 10 but they are new gears do I need to put more torque on the pinion nut to get to the 20 in lbs? I believe I cranked it to 265 ft lbs.
Thanks

Also with the pinion nut it say in the specs to have it 10-20 in lbs in rotation for old gears and 20-30 in lbs for new gears. Mine was at 10 but they are new gears do I need to put more torque on the pinion nut to get to the 20 in lbs? I believe I cranked it to 265 ft lbs.
Thanks
Don't worry about the pinion nut torque spec, or crushing the new sleeve or measuring pinion bearing preload until the very end when you do the final install. Work on getting all your shims figured out and running contact patterns with the old crush sleeve and minimal torque on the nut (maybe 100 lb.ft, just guessing.) You really just need the pinion gear to be secure, not necessarily preloaded when you're running patterns. Apply preload to the RING GEAR to produce a more distinctive pattern.