Opinions on Valvoline Max Life 10W-40

TJim

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Hey everyone!

I know engine oil is one of the most discussed topics in the forum.

However, I am about to use Valvoline Max Life 10W-40. What's your experience/opinion on this engine oil?

*I am looking at the 10W-40 viscosity, because I live in Greece, so it's a relatively hot climate. (100+ °F at summer time.)

Hey everyone!

I know engine oil is one of the most discussed topics in the forum.

However, I am about to use Valvoline Max Life 10W-40. What's your experience/opinion on this engine oil?

*I am looking at the 10W-40 viscosity, because I live in Greece, so it's a relatively hot climate. (100+ °F at summer time.)
Hi Jim and happy new year!

I have been using 10w-40 as well for many years now for the same reason. >40 degrees Celsius during July in Athens.

I have tried Mopar, Amsoil (not easy to find here) and for the last years I have been using Castrol. FWIW, I have not noticed any material difference between these brands.

Reactions: 06TJ35's
HI TJim MaxLife seems to be a more common high end high mileage oil in Europe but it is a full Synthetic. Are you using full synthetic at the moment because it can cause rear main seal leaks in some TJ,s.
I am using 10w-40 Castrol Magnatec which is a semi synthetic at the moment in Australia and the jump from 10w30 to 10w40 was a good move in my opinion but the semi did give me a "very minor" rear main seal leak over the conventional I was using.
I have found a conventional high mileage 10w 50 which I will be using next summer because my engine seems to run much better when hot on the 10w-40.