Overland 05 LJ Slow Build

posulli

Hey All!

I am a proud owner of a 2005 LJ (automatic unlimited, not rubicon) with 40k miles on it that I am slowly building into an overland rig. It is also my daily driver so I am keeping that in mind with my build. I am a jeep guy but this is my first TJ build. I have owned an XJ and ZJ in the past and currently own a 1977 Jeep J10 that I have done a complete mechanical rebuild on ( just under 10:1 compression fuel injected AMC360, Dana 20, T-18). I like to document the work I do so I figured I would start a thread. I am an apparel designer but have a background in Industrial Design so I can be a bit obsessive and really plan out all my designs and builds.

I bought the LJ and it already had the following installed:

_Currie Antirock
_Currie Front steering upgrade
_Warn front and rear bumpers
_Garvin Expedition rack (I will be modifying)
_Currie 4" lift with Bilstein shocks
_Warn XD9000i winch

Thinks I have done so far (mostly maintenance, some very minor but I like to document for my self):

_Valve cover gasket
_Replace cracked interior door handle
_All fluids changed
_Custom wheels I painted to further play into the overland feel I am going for
_33x12.5 R15 K02's
_Replaced body mounts
_Added blue tooth receiver to stock radio to keep factory look (game changer for me haha)

Now the fun stuff. Current work I am doing and plans:

_Currently building a Camp kitchen out of Anodized black 80/20 (the next post with start highlighting this build)
_Building out a matching cooler sliders and platform over top for optimal gear packing
_Modifying my Expedition rack to carry rotopax and building in a ladder to allow for access to my super light roof tent (plans to follow)
_Regear and lockers (man this thing struggles in the mountains here in Denver
_re powdercoat bumpers and rack

IMG-0076.jpg

IMG-9803-2.jpg

IMG-9914.jpg

IMG-9957.jpg

17-BCE803-8712-4-C53-B74-A-B0-D82-C8-A3-E92-3.jpg

C867-F21-F-96-D9-401-E-926-D-78-FFA310-E80-E-2.jpg