Pat's 97 TJ: unscrewing other peoples work

PatMc

TJ Enthusiast
Back in about 2006 or so I got into offroading and built a '86 toyota turbo Hilux...solid axle swap, Detroits, dual transfer cases, 35s...and we wheeled the hell out of until our son was born in 2010, then it had to go away.

About 3 months ago I decided to get back into it and started looking for a TJ since the toyota stuff as all getting pretty old and harder to find. I ended up buying this thing from a friend of friend...who hadn't built it, but had taken it on trade from someone who owed him money several years earlier. It looked like it had a bunch of good stuff on it, and the price seemed good, so I bought it.

One reason I chose a TJ is because I've known Blaine for a lot of years now and figured he'd have answers to all my questions...which he has. I'm a mechanic by trade, and do lots of machining/fab work on the side, but I wasn't familiar with TJ specific stuff.

So, After I got it home I called Blaine and told him all about my new toy and what parts were on it...some of which he told me was garbage and needed to be changed...

It's a 97 Sahara 5spd w/ hardtop and full doors
Rock Hard bolt in cage
Tuffy box and glove box door
Dana 44 axles F&R, 4.88 gears, ARB lockers, and a warn small hub kit in the front.
Ramsey Patriot 9500 winch
Cheap aftermarket lo pro bumpers
Warn Sliders, with some sort of added tube/step things i think (they're useful, so I'll keep them until they piss me off).
CTM joints in the front axles
OMF beadlocks w/ good Goodyear Wrangler MTR kevlars
Hurst Shifter
Fox 2.0 shocks
RE long arm kit
Teraflex disconnectable front sway bar
SYE
Stacked plate style PS cooler