Power steering fluid leak?

Rwhite97tj

Hey all! I’m new to the Jeep world and not the most mechanically inclined. I bought a used 97 jeep TJ 4 cylinder and just got its first oil change last week. It’s been leaking some type of fluid. Started out very minor after a short drive, then after about a 30 minute drive it leaked quite a bit. I believe I’ve identified it correctly to be steering fluid. The fluid is oil like, very light brown. The hose/line coming from the steering fluid box is soaked and is dripping downward onto the differential (I’m pretty sure). Any ideas where to start on locating and fixing the leak? Thanks in advance!

Go to the auto part store and get some UV dye and a UV light. Clean the fluid from the underside thoroughly, pour the UV dye in the power steering reservoir, then turn on the engine. Get under there with a UV light in the dark and shine it on the hoses. You should see very clearly where exactly the leak is coming from.

Pics? Pressure side or return? Ideally powersteering fluid is not brown. Should be a pink/red color. Motor oil is brown-ish.

Reactions: Tob
My hi pressure hose on the steering was leaking, as well as the pressure switch. Dryed 'em off with rags and then clecked for oil later to find the leaks. This on a 2000 4 cyl TJ

Thank you! I’m going to grab the dye and try that tomorrow. I was hesitant to believe it was power steering because it’s brownish and I’ve red power steering is more pink/reddish. I’ve also read power steering tends to leak while the vehicle is being driven and this leak is happening while it sits after being driven.

Thank you! I’m going to grab the dye and try that tomorrow. I was hesitant to believe it was power steering because it’s brownish and I’ve red power steering is more pink/reddish. I’ve also read power steering tends to leak while the vehicle is being driven and this leak is happening while it sits after being driven.