Prosthetic Feet / Ankle

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
So I know just a little while ago I had posted about not being able to wear my prosthetic leg becasue of a sore on my residual limb. Good news is it is healed now.

So being a new amputee I am still learning all about how things work and all the options available to me. Back in December I had asked the VA about getting a different ankle because my current one throw my knee around when I am walking on uneven ground. There isn't any currently available ankles on the market that can duplicate all the movement of your real ankle. This is always one of the issues when you have an amputation either below the knee (BKA) or above the knee (AKA) and you use which leg first initial to indicate which leg so I am a RBKA.

So back to the VA. I had asked about getting a different ankle because right now I have what is called a Fix Angle Prosthetic.

IMG_3572.JPG
IMG_3573.JPG
IMG_3574.JPG

So the VA enrolled me in a 3 foot/ankle study where I am going to get to try out 3 different types/styles of ankles. I went to the VA last week to get fitted to each of the new sockets and to get my height dialed in on each new ankle. On a random selection it was decided which ankle I came home with last week. And as luck would have it I came home with the same ankle I have been using up til now. This coming Tuesday I will be going back and coming home with a different ankle. I do this for 3 weeks and then after wearing each ankle for a week and giving my evaluation of what I liked and disliked.

So now my other two ankles are:
1) Mechanical/Hydraulic
2) Computerized/Electronic: Biggest issue with this ankle is that the charge on it will only last 4-6 hours depending on how much you use it. You do have spare batteries but I'm thinking on a camping trip how I would recharge the battery. And you can not get it wet like you can either of the other two ankles.