Purchase question

Ed Langenfeld

I just found an 05 Rubi with 93k. It is supoosedly rust free (have not yet looked at underside). AT with the 4.0L 6, Pacer Soft 8 wheels wrapped in 33s Falken Wildpeak AT3W, soft top (the only way ro go, IMHO), and K&N cold air intake (don't particularly care, but it's there so whatever). Looks pretty much unmolested beyond items listed above. Dealer asking $15k. I'm new to the Jeep game...fair deal? Would offering him less (say $10-12k) be insulting for that rig?
Thx in advance, much appreciated.

DSC03673.jpg

Without seeing the vehicle that is a solid starting point. Check it out though for sure, it has a couple aftermarket parts so double check you are not missing anything. If all checks out, offer $12k and see if you can get it down.

As a comp there is aTJ Rubi for sale near me, 75k miles for $18.8k at a dealer.

http://timstruckcapital.com/search/1J4FA69S16P780874?ibp-adgroup=CL_Target

Reactions: Ed Langenfeld
For comparison, I paid $14K for my bone stock '04 Rubi 5-speed with the same miles. It had a hardtop and was a rust free California vehicle.

where in NY are you? I doubt you will get it for much less than in the mid $14K mark. get as much underside pics as you can and post them up. Check the vin# to make sure the 6th# is a 6...that is a real Rubicon. you can offer what ever you want..dealers have heard it all and besides his reaction will tell you how far he might bend, you can always negotiate up not down. You can post the vin here and we can get a build sheet and history on vehicle.

I am more of a fan of the 2003-4 Rubicons. Some 4.0L engines in 2005-6 have a problem with the oil pump drive assembly which is not easily fixed permanently.

Reactions: ohiopatriot
In New York I would highly, highly doubt it's rust free.

Now assuming it is completely rust free (you should see if you can get photos of the entire underside), then yes, I would say 15k is a good price.