Question about CEL codes and how they're triggered

Modoc Guy

Jack of all trades, master of none
Supporting Member
I’ve been chasing random misfire codes for a few months now. Since the Jeep’s new to me, I had to use common sense, found a couple vacuum leaks, and forum knowledge, clean the idle valve, run the right spark plugs, clean the throttle body, and that’s all helped.
But I still get random misfire codes.

Now my question is, does anyone know what the computer monitors for it to know that the engine is misfiring?
Feedback from the coil pack, a rich mixture from the O2 sensors, what thing, or things are telling it a misfire is occurring?

It’s not a hard code anymore, but just an occasional flashing light either after semi hard acceleration, or freeway speeds.

So I think if I understand what it’s seeing, I might better understand what the cause is.

I was guessing maybe a dying coil pack or an injector or two is acting funky.

Any thoughts?

I believe it is sensing changes in crankshaft speed at the crankshaft position sensor. If the timing is slower than expected at a certain pass of the sensor, it can map that to a cylinder that should have just fired, but didn't.

Occasional misfires can often develop into major ones that will put your engine into limp mode, so it's best to try and diagnose it before it gets to that point.

What specific code are you getting? If it's consistently one or two cylinders, it will tell you which ones.

Reactions: qslim
Before I did the work I outlined, it threw misfire codes on various cylinders. Hard codes, ones I had to clear. No one cylinder regularly.
As I fixed/cleaned and replaced the TPI, the hard misfire codes stopped.

Now, it will flash the CEL occasionally, either at freeway speeds, 2600-2700 rpm’s, or after a medium-hard acceleration.
And not consistently either. I just had it on two trips of 260 miles and 325 miles respectively, and no issues.