California Question about shocks and trails in Orange County, CA

TWallRudy

Hi Everybody,

I've had my Jeep for a couple of months now and its stock with the only upgrade was to the tires (Falken AT3W 30/9.5R15) and i want to keep it relatively stock but am wondering if i should swap out the shocks into something slightly better to improve both highway and off road ride. I'm not trying to rock crawl with it but i do want to take it to some back roads, go camping/fishing with it.

I am completely new to the Jeep scene, and don't know maybe people in the off road community, I just want to know some easy off road trails where I can test the waters of what my jeep can handle so when i do decide to take it for a weekend trip i feel more comfortable know what it is capable of.

Jeep Info:

2001 Wrangler SE
Stock( no lift/suspension upgrade)
30x9.5r15 Falken Wildpeak AT3W tires

Hi TWallRudy and welcome to the forum, congratulations on your jeep purchase, you are in for lots of fun and decision making in the future, this forum will be a great source for information and ideas from many experienced jeepers. You have many options for trails that are easy and easy to access from where you live. You can youtube trails in southern california as one source. Some of the jeep clubs also like to have guests on their runs, its a great way to gain experience and exposure to offroading. One club I run with is Dirt Devils, based in Tustin, you can google them for their website. It has the club meeting schedules and run schedules as well. There is an easy run coming up April 6th, mostly forest service roads, a great one for a first timer.

You’ll find plenty of Forest Service roads you can go to in Cleaveland National Forest. Look up Holy Jim trail/Trabuco Canyon.