Questions about re-gearing my 2.5 TJ

mateocubillos

2002 2.5L Automatic, not really looking to pour a lot in but just curious! I have done some reading on forums and stuff, I am not quite comfortable with regearing in terms of what it means and putting the money into it, but I'd like to slightly lift it and get bigger tires. Tires are just under 29 inches, no lift currently. No off-roading just street use. For minor highway use and mainly street use, what could I do without regearing? And how would regearing benefit me if I do do that, seeing as it can be quite expensive? Any input is appreciated I am new to Jeeps specifically but doing my own thing with cars in general

Unfortunately it is what it is.
I would suggest keep the tires small if all your doing is street use. That will be the best thing you can do.
But if you really want a lift look into to a budget boost style lift. You add some pucks and newer shocks gets you about 2" enough to clear 30's maybe 32's.

I have 32's and a 2.5" lift.
The other day I was driving on the highway with all 3 of my kids in the jeep. Hit a very small incline and it was windy I had to drop to 3rd and with the foot to the floor jeep struggled to stay at 50.

Reactions: tr21triton
One thing to check is what gearing you currently have in your axles. If I remember correctly some automatics came with 3.73 instead of the 4.10 gears that manuals came with. If that is the case you might be able to find some axles with 4.10 gears for cheaper and it would give you a slight boost in power.

Reactions: Blackjack
One thing to check is what gearing you currently have in your axles. If I remember correctly some automatics came with 3.73 instead of the 4.10 gears that manuals came with. If that is the case you might be able to find some axles with 4.10 gears for cheaper and it would give you a slight boost in power.
I think I've read that a scant few actually came with 4.56 from the factory...03-06 4 cylinders with the auto, if memory serves.