Rancho shock debacle. Warning: read for amusement purposes only

Westtown Willy

TJ dummy
Supporting Member
Bear with me, there is nothing to be learned here, this is just a painful, humbling odyssey which reminded me I’m not a mechanic, amateur mechanic, or even a guy that might look like a mechanic if you dressed me up like one. Really at best I’m capable of only the simplest of ‘car maintenance stuff’ & bolt on type modifications & I need to remember that going forward.

It all began when I learned I couldn’t drive another mile without some Rancho 5000X shocks, I hate you people :D.

So I ordered a set from 4wheelparts and they sent me:

1) one functional rear shock that matched the part number I ordered;
2) one dysfunctional rear shock that matched the part number I ordered;
3) one functional rear shock that did not match the part number I ordered; and
4) one functional front shock that matched the part number I ordered.

Here are the two correct rear shocks that I ordered, one would only compress half way:

IMG_7277.JPG
IMG_7278.JPG

I contacted the company and learned that I had to make a warranty claim on the defective shock, all 4 went back.

I then ordered a set from Allen’s Off Road and a few days later I received 3 Rancho 5000X shocks and one 9000X front shock.

IMG_7297.JPG

Starting to think the Shock Gods didn’t want me installing Ranchos.

Anyway I contacted the company and Allen called me and advised a replacement would ship out immediately. That was a standup move, I was happy.

Until I began installation.

Front shocks of course were easy, took about 15 minutes to remove them.

Inside of the next 15 minutes I snapped both bolts off the driver’s side rear.

Undeterred, I moved over to the passenger side where I managed to remove one of the bolts cleanly but smoothed the second down into a nice round ball.

Frustrated, I baked a pizza
005.JPG

And drank some beer

Merica.JPG