Rear seat hinge pin broken?

odren

Supporting Member
Hey all. I’ve searched and came up empty and it may be a terminology issue since I’m new to the jeep life.

The rear seat in my (new to me) 2001 was sitting at an off angle and when I tried to square it up I found that the “hinge pin” that goes in the bracket on one side is snapped off where a clip should be. Is this something that can be replaced on the seat frame or am I looking for a whole new seat?

IMG_3377.jpeg

Hey all. I’ve searched and came up empty and it may be a terminology issue since I’m new to the jeep life.

The rear seat in my (new to me) 2001 was sitting at an off angle and when I tried to square it up I found that the “hinge pin” that goes in the bracket on one side is snapped off where a clip should be. Is this something that can be replaced on the seat frame or am I looking for a whole new seat?

View attachment 514640

Edited to clarify that this is on the front of the rear seat. Not the back side. My seat folds down and flips forward and these two steel ends act as a hinge and a stop for the tub mounted bracket.

The cover could be removed, at least in that area and weld on a new pin. The cost of having that done may very well exceed the cost of buying a used replacement seat. If you're handy with a welder, it could be fixed for cheap.

The cover could be removed, at least in that area and weld on a new pin. The cost of having that done may very well exceed the cost of buying a used replacement seat. If you're handy with a welder, it could be fixed for cheap.

Maybe buy a set of the same style for cheap, and swap your foam/cloth over so it still matches...

Reactions: flyinfish
I'd make a few cuts in the material around the broken pin, hold it back with something to give a welder some clearance, and just have a welder weld a replacement on. It wouldn't be a hard weld so even a friend with a welder could do it. Shouldn't cost much, any welding shop could do it in 5-10 minutes.