Ring and Pinion Gear Pattern Help

NashvilleTJ

I miss the snow...
Ride of the Month Winner
Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm setting up new R&P gears and ARB locker in my high-pinion, reverse-cut, pro-rock 60, and I'd like some input on my last pattern - it the 6th iteration. I'm also posting this on my build thread, but was hoping to get some more feedback. Thanks in advance.

Backlash is about 6.8 thou. Any guidance?

Jeep - R&P 10 (4).JPG

Jeep - R&P 10 (1).JPG

something looks very odd, but i've never messed with a 60 either.
the pattern appears to be crossing the tooth instead of riding along it.

this is pic off my rev cut front 44.

81979748_3323676241038300_1669676482009497600_n.jpg

something looks very odd, but i've never messed with a 60 either.
the pattern appears to be crossing the tooth instead of riding along it.

this is pic off my rev cut front 44.

View attachment 209823
I thought the pattern was strange as well - every pattern I got had that angle to it. I'm new to this, but it does not match any of the pattern guides I have seen. My first attempts had the pinion too deep, and I've slowly pulled pinion race shims to get to this point.

did your gear set give you a starting point?
my Revo gears give a .042 as a suggested start from point for pinion shim.

or

the pinion should be marked for it's optimal depth from center carrier, some MFG's measure from top of the pinion others go off the back side.
i use a straight edge across the strap flats and the depth gauge on my calipers to calculate where to set the pinion to match the mark # and start from there.

Definitely try thinning out the paste with gear oil. I just did this and it works great. Before I thinned it the pattern actually read better on the teeth it was transferring to vs the ones I painted.
That said, I’d say your pinion depth looks great on the coast side and maybe ok on the drive side. The backlash sounds great. I bet the thinned paste will show a good pattern.