Ring and Pinion Learning

MuleSknner

Supporting Member
Fix one break two, the mantra for Jeeps. It starts off with a leaking ARB locker, simple fix right? Two O rings and a half day smelling axle grease.
My locker is a 2000 year series, I guess you'd call it maybe a second gen, has the 6 bolts and the lock tabs. I digress...

The first thing I notice when pulling the cover off is the folks who set up the gears put the pinion wear on the outside of the ring. Well I guess I can live with that I've been wheeling for 3 years on it no issues...
Second are there a little bits of metal in the bottom of the diff, this smells worse than the grease! Out comes the carrier...
I find on the locker one of the shafts that holds the spyder gears looks like some one has chiseled the end of it, like you'd do to remove a broken bolt. Further inspection I find 2 teeth on my pinion chipped. Ok that's what that noise was about 6 months ago when making a lazy left hand turn with no power applied!! Time for a NEW locker and gears... Glad my wife understands the cost of wheeling! Ya I like to tell stories!

So here's what I've learned in my research of ring and pinion replacement and who's better at this time of writing.
First using Dana Spicer as the know it all of diff gears and axle design. ALL of their heavy duty axles(60 and 70s) seem to run a 9 tooth pinion. The TJ's come with an 11 tooth pinion. So the assumption is less teeth on the pinion the stronger. I can special order a 9 tooth from the local guy, but it's pricey. Nitro is the only other set that I could get the specs on and they run a 9 tooth as well.

Second thing I noticed when reviewing Dana's design is they have a smooth taper to the pinion shaft. G2 and Yukon have a "stepped" diameter. What I mean is the place where the bearing rides has a sharp drop to the core of the pinion shaft. In my mind that would be a weakness.