Rookie Fog Light Relay Question

SSTJ

———
Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,

I'm wiring my first pair of fog lights. My 97 SE came absolutely bare, so there were no switches in the aux panel by the cigarette lighter. I bought a switch like this, and now realize I need a relay too. (The lights are 100W each, so I figure they'll draw up to 16 amps together.)

Can anyone point me toward the type of relay I should use? I'm completely new to this, and of course I'm getting all sorts of things in my Amazon searches.

With thanks!

———

Results: These pictures from Jerry are worth 1000 words. Also this article for more about automotive relays. Buy a quality brand, like Bosch.

Last edited:
Has to be 12 volts DC of course. I can post a simple schematic tomorrow that would work.

Thanks Jerry. Yes, any advice would be appreciated. As you saw on the link in my first post, the switch is a 3 wire pig tail:, hot in, load-out and ground.

The most common Bosch style 12 volt relay will work. Think of a relay as just a simple remote-controlled on-off switch.

The top animated diagram shows the lights as the "high current load". Wire the fog lights in parallel like is shown in the bottom drawing. The numbers on the relay in both schematics correspond to how the connectors are labeled on the relay. Your switch has the 'indicator' shown on both drawings built into it.

Driving light animated schematic.gif
Driving&FogLightInstallationDrawing.jpg

The most common Bosch style 12 volt relay will work. Think of a relay as just a simple remote-controlled on-off switch.

The top animated diagram shows the lights as the "high current load". Wire the fog lights in parallel like is shown in the bottom drawing. The numbers on the relay in both schematics correspond to how the connectors are labeled on the relay. Your switch has the 'indicator' shown on both drawings built into it.