Great deals on TJ parts on Amazon!

Looking for parts for your Jeep Wrangler TJ? Checkout the selection of TJ parts Amazon has to offer, many with 2-day Prime shipping!

Click the image below to browse TJ parts on Amazon.

Jeep Wrangler TJ Parts on Amazon

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Scrat 2.5 to Scrat Limited 5.9

OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
I got the transmission valve body all back together. Then I worked on getting all the Jeep grand Cherokee levers swapped over, Brake peddle, E Brake lever, T Case lever and the Auto trans Lever. They are leather wrapped so it will be a bit different. I am going to make my own center console FWD section as I have an ammo can for the box.

I bought Advanced adapters motor mount kit but from reading what other have done I did not put the mounts where they suggested. I moved them back 2.5 inches and welded them in. I plan on running a mechanical fan so I wanted as much room forward as I can get. The jeep exhaust manifolds clear nicely. I have 1/2 inch clearance from the back of the engine to the firewall at its closest point.

Today I will start working on the transmission mount. I am following along the lines of Dan_Goodwin on the transmission mount. I bought the same weld in parts so it should be similar.

Again I plan on running the 242 Tcase so that will be cleaned and bolted up to address any driveshaft clearance issues.

feels pretty good getting these major steps out of the way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Woodrow and Wildman

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
I'm really looking forward to seeing how you lay everything out.
I was going to put a 242 into my daughter's Jeep. I like the idea of having AWD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Paparock1

Woodrow

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Joined
May 25, 2021
Messages
664
Location
Oregon
I'm really looking forward to seeing how you lay everything out.
I was going to put a 242 into my daughter's Jeep. I like the idea of having AWD.

Does a 242 fit well in a 231 space? I had a 242 and liked it in a mostly stock V8 ZJ Grand Cherokee years ago. I’ve thought it would be nice in my TJ and thought I read here somewhere that it’s a pretty solid case.
 

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
Does a 242 fit well in a 231 space? I had a 242 and liked it in a mostly stock V8 ZJ Grand Cherokee years ago. I’ve thought it would be nice in my TJ and thought I read here somewhere that it’s a pretty solid case.

Yes it fits and from the guys who have done it in their TJ's they say for rainy and icy roads it's great. I wanted it so my daughter could use the AWD in the snow here. But then her Jeep turned out to be in worse shape than I'd thought as far as the rust.

There is a thread on here about doing the swap. You need a KJ (Liberty) shifter that has the shift pattern on the handle plus the gate is longer. But with a cable shifter it can be setup to work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Woodrow
OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
The 242 is new to me as I bought a beat up Cherokee limited just to do this swap. it was working fine to my knowledge when I removed it. I like the AWD as most of my driving is on the street. The other benefit is that I do not (as of yet) need to change the 231 input shaft as it is different from the 4 cylinder to anything else.

I am also going from the AX15 to the 46re. I believe I struck gold with the grand Cherokee as I have been able to modify and make it all work together so far.

I had to modify the the cherokee TC lever to fit in the TJ TC lever housing. I cut it down and bent it to fit. I get full throw. I used the cherokee's guide fixture in place of the 231's guide fixture. It was not a direct or pretty modification but it is study and will be hidden under the console when completed. I have a cable shift to the 231 but at the moment I do not get full lever action once the cable is hooked up to the 242. I am going to need to modify the cable mount the attaches to the TC. It does not go into 4low.

because I moved my engine mounts back 2.5 inches now the 242 limiting factor is the transmission hump. I am still thinking on the options as to just use a big hammer and gain a little clearance there or to do some cutting and lengthening of the tunnel area to be able to tuck the transfer case up higher. but then I would have to do the SYE to the 242. Right now as I look at the stock rear drive shaft I could (not saying I will) cut about an inch off the TC tail shaft and maybe about 1/2 to 3/4 off the snout/slip yoke of the drive shaft itself to give it room to use the stock shaft. If it works and I dont have vibes then I would keep it that way. again I am not at the moment expecting to do hardcore rock crawling. I will need to come up with a plan on this soon as it is holding up my transmission mount install.

the front drive shaft now has only 3/8 to 1/2 spline engagement. I honestly will get another front slip yoke portion and cut an inch off it and weld it to my stock shaft and see how it does. Again if it is successful then I will continue to run it like that until I must do an upgrade.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Woodrow and Wildman
OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
Another milestone down

20220727_120739.jpg


20220727_120651.jpg
 

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
A lot has been happening under the hood. I put the harness in and then connected everything, that took about 2 hours itself. So much easier having the harness on the engine and install it all at the same time.
Anyway, I attempt my first start, I turn on things slowly, lights, horn, I hear the fuel pump etc. I go decide to start.......... it turns over but doesn't start. 😢

I spend the next few days going back over the wire schematics in each FSM and write it all out. I go out and check all my connections and everything is correct. So I start troubleshooting. Turns out my ASD relay was bad so when I finally get that sorted It starts but shuts down quickly. But it RUNS!!!! yes. However the Jeep Grand Cherokee PCM will not work for me. I guess I am in the market for a 1998-2000 Dodge ram PCM in basic trim package.

But I am so glad it runs!
 
  • Love
  • Like
Reactions: Woodrow and Wildman

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
A lot has been happening under the hood. I put the harness in and then connected everything, that took about 2 hours itself. So much easier having the harness on the engine and install it all at the same time.
Anyway, I attempt my first start, I turn on things slowly, lights, horn, I hear the fuel pump etc. I go decide to start.......... it turns over but doesn't start. 😢

I spend the next few days going back over the wire schematics in each FSM and write it all out. I go out and check all my connections and everything is correct. So I start troubleshooting. Turns out my ASD relay was bad so when I finally get that sorted It starts but shuts down quickly. But it RUNS!!!! yes. However the Jeep Grand Cherokee PCM will not work for me. I guess I am in the market for a 1998-2000 Dodge ram PCM in basic trim package.

But I am so glad it runs!

Congratulations 🎊.

Yes most times the GC or higher end rigs will cause issues with the PCM. It can be due to SKIM or the body control module.
IMO it's easier to either hit up a local junk yard or Ebay to find one.
 

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
If you can't find one right away I can loan you one to get it running and so you can work on it. I'm still a few weeks out before I'll be ready to try to start mine. I could also loan you the Snap On scan tool so you can set your fuel sync.

I've got two PCM's. The one I know works and is tuned by B&G for a hopped up 5.2 but runs a 5.9 really good too. The other one is untested. At some point you'll want to get your fuel sync set as it can cause drivability issues. These are things I learned the HARD way when I first started working on mine.
I went thru 3 junk yard PCM's before I finally got a good working one. But I'd bought it from a rebuild place I'd found on Ebay. It's the one that has the B&G tune on it.
 
OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
I appreciate the offer 100%. Very nice. I am not in a rush so I will try and find a PCM locally. I have a guy, LOL that has a few trucks and will be checking them tomorrow. Now once I get a working PCM I would probably like to take you up on your offer to use the scan tool.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wildman

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
22,880
Location
In the hills of WA
I appreciate the offer 100%. Very nice. I am not in a rush so I will try and find a PCM locally. I have a guy, LOL that has a few trucks and will be checking them tomorrow. Now once I get a working PCM I would probably like to take you up on your offer to use the scan tool.

Not a problem. I've loaned it to 4 other people already. It's a nice thing to have but once the fuel sync it's only other use is to scan codes.
Let me know when and I can get it into a medium flat rate box. I'll send the manual with it but it's not hard to use.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Paparock1
OP
Paparock1

Paparock1

Angry SE
Supporting Member
Joined
May 14, 2018
Messages
479
Location
L.A. Lower Alabama
You are correct. The gauges do not work. I have video but its to large to post.
This gets moving forward finishing up the loose wiring and moving onto drive shafts.
I am going to Clarksville TN this weekend to see my newest grandson. Right across the street from the campground we stay at is a pull a part so I am hoping to find a PCM there