Should there be any in / out play of the rear output shaft after SYE?


bobthetj03

WRKJ779
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
13,609
Location
NorCal
Should there be any in/out play of the rear output shaft? Advance Adapters SYE. In an effort to rule out the rear yoke, I replaced it and noticed a lot of play. Not rotational play, not up/down, side/side play, but in/out play. After torqueing the new yoke down the play was less, but still some play. I get zero in/out play of both diff yokes and the input yoke on the TC.
 

BuildBreakRepeat

Innovator
Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2019
Messages
3,355
Location
Corvallis, Oregon
Should there be any in/out play of the rear output shaft? Advance Adapters SYE. In an effort to rule out the rear yoke, I replaced it and noticed a lot of play. Not rotational play, not up/down, side/side play, but in/out play. After torqueing the new yoke down the play was less, but still some play. I get zero in/out play of both diff yokes and the input yoke on the TC.
You might have just found your problem :)
 
OP
bobthetj03

bobthetj03

WRKJ779
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
13,609
Location
NorCal
Just put a call in to Advance Adapter's tech line. They suggest pulling the tail shaft to see if a snap ring or something has failed. What fun!
 
  • Haha
Reactions: BuildBreakRepeat

Jerry Bransford

TJ Guru Moderator
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2015
Messages
19,530
Location
Escondido California
My bet is no snap ring failed, it is more likely either it wasn't seated entirely and it worked its way out, or the snap ring never got installed.
 

freedom_in_4low

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2019
Messages
2,285
Location
Edmond, OK
definitely zero play on my JB Conversions SYE. The yoke nut (torqued to 200!) pulls the shaft outward and sandwiches the speed sensor tone ring and the inner race of the bearing, so the only way to have play would be if the yoke nut wasn't torqued or the bearing was worn enough to be loose.
 
OP
bobthetj03

bobthetj03

WRKJ779
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
13,609
Location
NorCal
The instructions for the standard AA SYE says to torque the yoke to 140-150ft.lbs. Should I torque it more than that?
 
OP
bobthetj03

bobthetj03

WRKJ779
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
13,609
Location
NorCal
To update this thread, I revisited the output yoke today with a digital caliper. I'm getting 0.020" of out play. That is not very much, so I don't think the t-case is the issue?
 

Wtrask

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Maine
Have you checked the nut on the front driveshaft yoke where it bolts to the transfer case? I had vibes after I installed my tome woods sye and it was the nut for the front transfer case yoke. I had never had the front shaft out either it must have been loose from the factory. It fixed some vibes but I still got vibes at about 75mph. Installing a hub kit this weekend.