So it begins

Jeep_RN

Hey y'all. Joined up because I just bought a slightly clapped out 2000 TJ. The price was right (4k) and it had the engine and transmission I wanted (4.0, 5MT). I'm not new to working on cars. I can change my own oil, do brakes & rotors and have replaced a couple of clutches. I'm a nurse, so I think I've got a pretty good mind for understanding processes and a decent diagnostic brain.

I'm looking for her to be my daily driver. My hospital is about 5 miles from our condo, but once a week I do need to take her about 25 miles rt on the Chicago freeways to get to the clinical site as I work on my doctorate as a nurse practitioner.

As for recreation, we recently bought some land off of forest service roads in the Eastern Sierras, and we'd like to drive her from Chicago to our land in California, do backcountry discovery trails in Idaho, Colorado, Arizona, Washington and Oregon. We'd probably run a rooftop tent, and camp out of that.

I've tried to measure the front springs to get a sense of the lift that's on her. I'm coming up with 2.5". She's on 33" mud tires right now. She runs...OK, and is pretty rust light. The skid plate over the gas cap is rusted out, but the frame is pretty ok. Right now she feels.like she's all over the road and will require a ton of suspension work before I can safely take her on the freeway. Anyways, I'm open to suggestions on what type of lift/suspension/tires Ishould be looking at for this use case. Thanks in advance.

K

20240129_163349.jpg

20240129_163411.jpg

20240129_163349.jpg

20240129_163404.jpg

First thing I would do, and did do, is check into the ZJ Steering Conversion...
Its cheap enough, easy enough, and prevents you from chasing your tail for weeks.
Provides peace of mind that everything is good/new.

Everything you need is here in this thread.
https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/zj-steering-upgrade.11895/