Suspension upgrade questions

Chris32win

Hey guys! I got my first Jeep this last fall and am looking to get some stuff done to it with spring/tax returns upon us. I’m new to jeeps and am learning to wrench with it as well so any patience is appreciated.

I’ve got a 2000 se with the 2.5 (slow I know) and 153k miles at the moment. I use it primarily to buzz around town and take my kids to school. I also use it to run down some dirt roads to go camping/fishing. So rutted roads, washboards, forest roads, etc. I have no plans to do any serious stuff beyond that.

The Jeep came with what appears to be a 2 inch spacer lift and 32x11.5 R15’s on it. I don’t know the history on the suspension beyond that. My question is I’m wondering if these appear to be stock shocks or not. I’ve read that even with a spacer lift it’s good to get a bit longer shock to go with it. I don’t see any markings and I can’t tell if these were upgraded or not with the spacer lift.

I have done a bit of research and it looks like the Rancho shocks are the suggested set for our tjs and the OME springs are suggested as well. I’d like to keep it at or around 2 or 2.5 inches of lift. Based on if these are still stock shocks, Should I plan to upgrade just the shocks or springs too? Furthermore what length would I need on those non adjustable Ranchos? Would I rub if I looked into sway bar disconnects?

I don't think I can answer everything for you, but I recently put some of the OME springs and Rancho rs5000x shocks on my TJ and I have been loving it so far. I have not done any off road yet so I can't say how that performance is, but my on road performance is better.

These are the Rancho shocks I'm using with my ~2.5 inch lift
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01963N4ZY/?tag=wranglerorg-20
Though I have read that rancho's can run long, so could be incorrect in suggesting these for what you have. These are the non adjustable Ranchos. I believe the 9000s are the adjustable ones, which I have no experience with.