T.J. 2001 Build

cKc99

I purchased my first TJ a couple weeks ago. I am a big Volkswagen guy and have been all my life. Currently, I own two of them now, which one of them is undergoing a full restoration and the other one is just about done.

A year ago, I bought a stock 1994 YJ with a 2.5L motor for my son. Long story short, he decided the Jeep was not really for him so I took over it and started tinkering with it. I installed a 2.5" lift kit with longer shackles, added bigger tires, upgraded all the steering including adding power steering to it, did a full tune up, changed all the fluids, added new brakes, and exhaust. I realized that the Wranglers are easy to work on, just like my V-Dubs.

I decided to sell my YJ because the 2.5L was too slow and I liked how the TJ's had the coil suspension. I am still new to the Jeep world and wanted to start a build thread on my new TJ. In the V-Dub world, we know what parts manufacturers to buy from and which ones to avoid, what parts actually work and what doesn't. I want to use this thread to "learn" what companies to use, what equipment to use, to answer many of my questions, to look for advise on certain upgrades, and to post any work I've done on my TJ.

My kids love to name our Volkswagens and the day we picked up our Jeep, my two boys decided we should name the Jeep. They came up with...... T.J. o_O Hence the name of the thread.

I'll post some pics of my Jeep today but here are a couple of pics of the V-Dubs I've owned.

IMG_0011.JPG
IMG_0012.JPG
IMG_0014.JPG
IMG_0015.JPG
IMG_0016.JPG
IMG_0017.jpg

An aircooled guy? Awesome!

I used to be big into VWs myself when I was younger. Of course I was into watercooled VWs though. I had one of them that one the Waterwagens show.

Looking forward to seeing what you do with the newly acquired TJ!

Reactions: cKc99
Awesome V dubs! I loved em as a kid. So Cal was big into V dubs in the 70's. Them and lowriders. Love me some 65 Impala with hydraulics, too.

Reactions: cKc99