Thinking about my first winch

nathanotis

TJ Enthusiast
I've been reading and comparing, researching and learning. I'm considering Warn and Superwinch.

Warn has the M8... and I'm trying to determine what series of Superwinch competes most directly with Warn's M8? Would it maybe be the 9.5 Tigershark or Talon series?

I have also read that there has been a change in ownership at Superwinch and their service may be faltering. Any truth or accuracy to that?

Thanks in advance.
n.

I have no experience with Superwinch, but if you’re comparing Warn versus Superwinch, I wouldn’t questionably go with Warn just given their name, warranty, and reputation.

Superwinch went TU a couple years ago and the intellectual property and some inventory was acquired by Westin. Last fall when I talked to them they were not offering any parts for any of the older winch models. Bummer too as I have a couple friends that I was trying to help fix some minor things and now they have expensive paperweights.

Reactions: DrDmoney
Superwinch went TU a couple years ago and the intellectual property and some inventory was acquired by Westin. Last fall when I talked to them they were not offering any parts for any of the older winch models. Bummer too as I have a couple friends that I was trying to help fix some minor things and now they have expensive paperweights.
That sucks, but nice to know.

Lockers avoid most of the need for a winch in my opinion, but still a necessary item.

Reactions: D M
Lockers avoid most of the need for a winch in my opinion, but still a necessary item.
I passed on getting a winch in the past because every time I saw one used, it seemed like a big dog and pony show where the desired result could have been achieved with a strap... These days I feel it's a thing that's better to have and not need.