TJ Winter Upgrade Project

DrDirt

I've been gathering parts for a several months now for an upgrade project on my 97TJ. Similar to a squirrel gathering nuts for the winter, only it's parts for me.
My current lift is a Superlift long-arm kit which had a lifetime warranty but the kit is now discontinued. The long arms have screw joints in them which do not have a lock nut on them. They provide rotation in the joint for good flexing. Over time and use these joints can get worn and loose. Some recommend welding the joints but I think at least one of the end joints should be changed to a Johnny Joint (or something similar). Wasn't sure I wanted to do that.
So for the long term, I decided to get a new lift. Going to put in the Teraflex Pro LCG 4" lift. All of the suspension links in this kit are straight tubes with rod ends threaded into the tube. A good long term lift with easier maintenance. Adding the Teraflex bumpstops front and read too.
Also going to install a new front axle. Going to install a Dynatrac ProRock44 with 4.56 gears and an ARB locker. (I'll have a Dana 30 for sale in the not to distant future. (It will be posted in the for sale section later.)
So I pulled the Jeep in the shop over the weekend and got it on my lift. Already started doing some work but the real work will begin in Dec. and Jan. after I retire.
MUST have the Jeep ready for Moab. Got a condo rented and heading west!
Jeep with parts for upgrade.jpg Jeep on lift to begin upgrade.jpg

Similar to a squirrel gathering nuts for the winter, only it's parts for me.
View attachment 24199 ]

First, congrats on all the parts! Second, congrats on the future retirement. That squirrel quote has be crying. And that picture is one of the best Jeep pictures I have seen. It captures what the Jeep life is all about.

Very excited to see your transformation! Keep us posted.