TPS issue

Nova

Hello, I am new to this Jeep community. I recently just bought a 98 wrangler with a 2.5 as a fixer upper and I noticed the check engine light had recently come on. I ran the codes to find out it was the TPS so I replaced the sensor (I did not calibrate) and the light turned off for a bit but it came back on with the same issue. As I accelerate at times it jolts almost as if it lags in power for a bit but if I press the throttle a tad bit harder it stops but inevitably comes back when I’m cruising at a constant speed. I was wondering wether I need to calibrate the sensor or could there be something else wrong? And if so how would I go about calibrating it?

What brand of replacement sensor did you use?

There is no way (or need) to calibrate the sensor. However, the ONLY replacement sensors you should ever use in these vehicles is OE Mopar sensors. Anything other than that, and you're almost guaranteed to have issues.

So if you replaced it with a cheap local auto part store brand, that could very well likely be your issue.

Reactions: Leinhit

There is no way (or need) to calibrate the sensor. However, the ONLY replacement sensors you should ever use in these vehicles is OE Mopar sensors. Anything other than that, and you're almost guaranteed to have issues.

So if you replaced it with a cheap local auto part store brand, that could very well likely be your issue.

Ahhh, okay yeah I just went to the local parts store I guess that was my problem. Any suggestions on where I go about getting one of these OEM sensors?

Thank you so much Chris, you’re awesome!

No problem, happy to help! Visually compare that one in the photo to the one only your vehicle just to make sure it looks the same. It says it fits a 98 TJ with a 2.5 engine though. I always just like to double check.