Transmission noise?

DCB

I have a 2002 Tj with a 5 speed transmission noise...any ideas?

I have had the clutch replaced twice now. My mechanic took the transmission to a trans mechanic and they went trough it and said there were no issues.
You can hear when I pushed the clutch in the noise goes away.

Thanks

It goes away when the clutch is pushed in? Sure sounds like a throwout bearing to me. What brand of throwout bearing did they use? Hopefully an OE Sachs one.

The 1st throwout bearing (clutch) was Luk. When I took it back for making the same sound he dropped the trans and said the bearing was good...but I think he replaced it again, not sure. I know the new parts are OE.

Hmmm, I may be wrong, but anytime I ever had an issue in the past with clutch noise coming and going when pressing n the pedal, it always turned out to be a throwout bearing. I suppose it could also be an improperly installed clutch (or something), but I'm not a transmission expert by any means.

NV3550 trans. They're known the be noisy. My old one rattled a lot. But you mention it all goes away when the clutch is pressed in?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Actually that is backwards the throw-out bearing sits idle till you "push it in" then it pushes against the plate and spins, so if it was your throw-out bearing it would make noise when you hit your clutch and be quiet when you take your foot off of the clutch. So that said when you push your clutch in or step on the pedal you are disengaging your transmission and essentially stopping the front input bearing from spinning. If you are in neutral then basically your front input bearing is all that is spinning.

Break down
car running in neutral
Cutch pushed to the floor > Throw-out bearing spins > trans completely stopped
Let clutch out > throw out bearing not touching the plate stops spinning> front bearing in trans spins.

Does that make sense?