Trying to get this aftermarket door seal to fit

mrblue5150

Supporting Member
So I bought a new driver side door seal from ExtremeTerrain and it appears to be to big. Should I trim a bit off each side to get it to fit then try and seal it together. I dunno. I’m no expert at this stuff.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What exactly is too big? When I replaced the passenger side, the seal wasn't shaped properly and it would catch on the edge of the hard top when trying to shut it. The vendor at the time replaced it and the replacement seal fit much better.

If it is truly too big, I would ask XT to replace it. The door seal should be pretty snug against the outside of the door.

I do remember having to really work to get the top front corner to fit properly while getting the clips secured. It didn't sit perfectly flush at first, but it has since settled into place.

Reactions: mrblue5150
What exactly is too big? When I replaced the passenger side, the seal wasn't shaped properly and it would catch on the edge of the hard top when trying to shut it. The vendor at the time replaced it and the replacement seal fit much better.

If it is truly too big, I would ask XT to replace it. The door seal should be pretty snug against the outside of the door.

I do remember having to really work to get the top front corner to fit properly while getting the clips secured. It didn't sit perfectly flush at first, but it has since settled into place.
This is a pic. I am going with OEM for door seals. I put original back on. The reviews on Extreme Terrain are about 50-50 for fitment. You win some, you lose some. Having restored several Chevelles I know that aftermarket rarely fits the way you want it to and sometimes minor fabrication is necessary.

IMG_9454.JPG