Vibration from 55-60 MPH

jmess

My friend is telling me to post this(he doesn't have good access to the internet) so response time might be a little slow.

He has an 05 Jeep TJ X with 4spd It's not really modded, but it has is a 1" body mount lift. He was experiencing steering wheel wobble from 40+ for a little over a month so he recently charged out nearly everything he could. Here's the list of what he did.
-Rotate, Balance, align tires.
-Steering Stabilizer
-Replace tie rod end links
-SwayBar Link
-Steering Link
-Track Bar
-Replaced All U-Joints
After all that was done his Steering wheel has stopped wobbling from 40+ but between 55-65 everything vibrates and the steering wheel wobble.
Troubleshooting steps include:
-Try different tires/wheels
-Remove his MML
-torque all nuts n' bolts to spec
-Taken to transmission shop(said nothing was wrong)((I'm not experienced enough to do that :))

We are now out of ideas. If anybody has any suggestions at all they would be much appreciated.

Thanks for your help!

Has he checked his upper + lower control arm bushings? Had a serious steering shimmy that turned into death wobble at highway speeds when mine went. Check for cracks/dry rot in the rubber.

Regardless of the recent claim by a tire shop that they balanced your tires, that still sounds like a bad tire balance.

It took Discount Tires three tries in one day before they finally got my 35's balanced well enough to get rid of a speed sensitive shimmy.

Reactions: TWiG01
Regardless of the recent claim by a tire shop that they balanced your tires, that still sounds like a bad tire balance.

It took Discount Tires three tries in one day before they finally got my 35's balanced well enough to get rid of a speed sensitive shimmy.