Welding Helmet

P

P man

I am a hobby welder at best. In a previous life I used a Harbor Freight auto dim and it served me well. Is that still a good alternative? Are the name brand more expensive helmets really worth the expense?

I haven't used them all but I really like my Lincoln Viking 3350 and I enjoy having working eyes so I try not to put them at risk

x1200_e39e455a-9902-4746-9503-6cbd5bab370c_704x704.jpg

I bought quite a few cheap helmets from Amazon and I could never really see (I could see the puddle but not where I was going). The harbor freight was actually better than any other cheapy on Amazon. I then bought the Viking and I will never go back, it is so nice to be able to see. My 18yo son says he doesn't have the same problem with the cheap helmets, so it may just be my eyes.

I bought a Kobalt auto darkening one from Lowes maybe 5 years ago for a fairly cheap price, somewhere in the $100-200 range. It worked fine when I was using it a few time a week. I was using it mostly for TIG at the time, and many of the cheaper helmets didn't like to work with TIG for some reason. It sat on a shelf for a year and quit working. I wouldn't buy another one.

Reactions: Blondie70 and P man
I used the $40 HF one for a while but the window was just too small. I went to this and I like it a lot better.

Hobart 770890 Auto-Darkening... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MKRYWMD/?tag=wranglerorg-20

can't speak to HFs higher level options. But I suspect that beyond its reliability to auto darken, having a clean, scratch free and reasonably sized viewing area are more important than the brand name.

Reactions: P man
Get the biggest viewing area you can. A 220 dollar investment in a good lid will improve your welds dramatically