What do you think about the cracks in my tires?

Adam Sweet

Hey all,
I just bought my first Jeep so I'm a Jeep novice. Any help in the coming months would be very much appreciated!

First things is, what do you guys think about the cracks in these tires...I really don't want to replace them because they have a ton of tread on them. As far as I've noticed they aren't losing any air. Safe to drive and just keep an eye on them? Any sort of sealer I can put around them? The only cracks I see are on the sidewalls.
I also looked quickly this morning to find the DOT to see how old they are and didn't see it on there. I can look in more detail later.
Thoughts?
IMG_0825.jpg
IMG_0824.jpg
IMG_0823.jpg
IMG_0822.jpg
IMG_0817.jpg

Thanks!

• Wow
Reactions: Plumber1
Hate to be another one to break the bad news, but those tires are shot regardless of the tread. The cracks in the 1st pic aren't good, but the ones in the rest of the pics that run more or less parallel to the tread right next to it and right next to the rim are worse and are signs the tire's dry rotted and the sidewalls are compromised.

The DOT medallion indicating the week and year of production is on the other (fully black) sidewall....
As others have responded... it's time to start looking for new tires.

Congratulations on the purchase.
Good looking '00.

Last edited:
Reactions: kenosha whiz six
Nice TJ man! Already got answers on your tires but just a heads up, 2000’s had a problem with cracking heads. Take a look down your oil fill and see if TUPY is stamped into the head, if it is you’re good as you have the updated head. If not, you (probably) have the problematic 0331 head. Keep an eye on oil level, coolant level, watch for coolant in oil/oil in coolant. Some people seem to have a problem, some don’t. Just somethin I’d watch out for. (y)

Welcome! Great looking TJ!