What gear lube Rubicon Dana 44 with stock lockers?

Dahbarez

I'm upgrading my rear diff cover so I need to buy some gear oil. I have been reading through the forum and have decided I will go with a non-synthetic oil. Just wanting some recommendations on what weight to get I don't tow but I live in Colorado so the winter temps can get very cold. Secondly I was wondering what the preferred brand for gear oil people like.

GL-5 is the important spec , and you will see the weights on the lubricants specifications thread under commonly asked questions.

A heavier is recommended for the back , as it is loaded more often in terms of drive stress, but I can't remember the numbers and I'm not going to guess.

I run conventional 85W-140 GL-5 in mine though the exact viscosity is not critical. Valvoline, Castrol, Torco, Mobil, NAPA, etc. would all be fine. No additives are needed.

The factory calls for 75w-140 synthetic.

I've been running Valvoline Synpower 75w-140 for ten years.

vlv-vv982.jpg

I run the cheapest conventional 85W-140 GL-5 I can find. Guy that did my gears said the brand doesn't matter and the cheap stuff works just as well.

I run the cheapest conventional 85W-140 GL-5 I can find. Guy that did my gears said the brand doesn't matter and the cheap stuff works just as well.
I wondered where he has been .

I wondered where he has been .

Tis one week from deer season, I've been trolling the bow hunting forum and getting my deer stuff in-line. Plus, I haven't really been tinkering with my Jeep, just cruising and enjoying it...for once, I've not searched for something "broken".

Tis one week from deer season, I've been trolling the bow hunting forum and getting my deer stuff in-line. Plus, I haven't really been tinkering with my Jeep, just cruising and enjoying it...for once, I've not searched for something "broken".
Awesome, I knew you were getting it dialed in .

Awesome, I knew you were getting it dialed in .