97TJnotstuck

What’s up TJ fans! Newbie here….I was looking over my sons 1997 TJ this afternoon and found this “arm” or “bar” to be broke. What the heck is it? I can’t find it in any diagrams.

E666E1CA-094E-43B2-A47F-40A732D792DA.jpeg

Looks like a track bar drop bracket. Is there also a dropped pittman arm?
Aloha Jablinski.
Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression the track bar is located lower. There are two bars connect high on the passenger side and connect to a lower area on the drivers side. I highlighted the bar in red.
4A43E027-4B43-4655-BFFB-ACC3E8E49A30.jpeg

Aloha Jablinski.
Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression the track bar is located lower. There are two bars connect high on the passenger side and connect to a lower area on the drivers side. I highlighted the bar in red.
View attachment 267948
The highlighted bar and the one above it are both non-stock support bars for the dropped track bar bracket. Not sure of what the brand that uses those bars is but without a dropped pittman arm to match, that jeep will have bump steer.
I would suggest removing the bracket as opposed to trying to fix the support rod. Also replace the pittman arm with stock if it is a drop. You want the ends of the drag link and the ends of the track bar as close to planed in with each other as possible to avoid bump steer

It's called a kludge. Some dumbass thought he could integrate a mount for what appears to be a track bar brace between the track bar and the factory track bar mount. The main problem with that is it screws up the steering geometry by dropping the driver's side track bar mount so the track bar's operating plane is no longer parallel to the drag link which creates steering problems like bump steer.

I'd remove it and remount the driver's side of the track bar to the factory mount above.