What winch?

rjinaz86323

Grasslands of Arizona
Supporting Member
Friend of mine just ordered a 2021 Wrangler V6 auto 2 door. Bought about every option they have. Asked me what winch would be best for him. I said Warn, but wasn't sure about the various models. He will do difficult and less trails only. No serious rock crawling. What would be a good model for him. thx

8,000 lb. capacity up to no more than 10.5k is all that's needed. I personally like 9,000 to 9,500, they require less battery power at the same load an 8,000 lb. winch does.

https://www.warn.com/products-8000-10000-lbs-winches gives a good selection.

I'd pick nearly any of them though I personally would rather have something other than one of their VR winches which are imported from China. The VR series is good quality but I'd rather my $$$ be given to an American production line worker.

somewhere between this
Winch small.JPG

and this
winch big.JPG

I am not a winch expert and i have been drinking

Based on facebook jeep clubs, I would say the goto JK/JL winch is anything Harbor Freight sells.

I have heard those are decent for an inexpensive winch. If it's not going to be used that much, give it a try. Just make sure your friends have a winch too.

Last edited:
Reactions: Rebuild
Friend of mine just ordered a 2021 Wrangler V6 auto 2 door. Bought about every option they have. Asked me what winch would be best for him. I said Warn, but wasn't sure about the various models. He will do difficult and less trails only. No serious rock crawling. What would be a good model for him. thx
I also have the 2018 JLU Sahara. I bought an X-Bull 13K lbs winch off Amazon. The problem is... the controller on top sits about a micron away from the grill. No biggie except the cables come out the back. SO I found the Warn anniversay Mopar winch on Amazon for about $300 cheaper than Mopar. SO I am going to install it on the JLU Sahara and the X-Bull on the TJ Sport.

Last edited:
Reactions: Jerry Bransford