When is it time for new shocks?

Jeffreybomb

Póg mo thóin!
Supporting Member
My TJ was a DD when I first got it. I put a lift on it shortly afterwards. It's been running a RE 3.5" lift kit for around 6 or 7 years. I was finally able to replace it with another DD. I've been keeping the miles off of it for just over two years. Now, I mostly wheel it and take it on the street every so often. Last year, I only put 120 miles on it.

That being said, should I consider replacing the shocks soon? I honestly have no idea.

Unbolt the bottom of 1-2 shocks and push-pull on them. Generally speaking, bad shocks are easy to push in and pull out. Good shocks will give significant resistance in both directions. Only hydraulic shocks will stay at the position they were pushed or pulled to. Gas-charged shocks will extend out on their own once you release pressure on them or stop pushing on them.

Last edited:
For an alternative answer not related to wear, when you finally admit to yourself that you originally purchased a shitty set of shocks valved incorrectly for a TJ and realize that you can have a much more comfortable driving experience if you swap them.

:)

Unbolt the bottom of 1-2 shocks and push-pull on them. Generally speaking, bad shocks are easy to push in and pull out. Good shocks will give significant resistance in both directions. Only hydraulic shocks will stay at the position they were pushed or pulled to. Gas-charged shocks will extend out on their own once you release pressure on them or stop pushing on them.
x2
When @tomtaylz and I were replacing his front steering stabilizer I could compress it with my pinky. It ones of those items that you will know when its bad.

Reactions: Matt77 and tomtaylz
Old school: You step-stand in the front bumper, then shake the front end up and down real good using your weight-legs and jump out of it soon as you are in the motion of going up. If the front bounces like a rubber then your shocks are bad.

Reactions: Matt77