Who else is a mechanic / tech for a living?

• Thread starter Cross-Threaded-06TJ
  • Start date
Amen on your back bothering you!

When I was in my 20’s, at the dealership, I shared the front end rack with an older mechanic in his late 50’s. I was quite a bit faster doing an std. alignment than he was. My arrogant ass wanted to think I was a better mechanic. Nope, there was 30 hard years difference between the two of us. Flat rate is easier when you're younger.

I was so blessed to be able to get out of the dealership when I was 30.

@Rubicon John its so cool to have your big box and all your tools home.
When I retired 5 years ago I brought home a SnapOn box my wife had never seen and it was 15 years old!
My wife knows what it cost but hasn’t seen it either 🤣

And yes, I was damn fast in my 20s. I’ve certainly slowed down a bit. But I rarely mess anything up nowadays and know how to get through roadblocks so my hours are still good.

What line of work did you get into after?

My wife knows what it cost but hasn’t seen it either 🤣

And yes, I was damn fast in my 20s. I’ve certainly slowed down a bit. But I rarely mess anything up nowadays and know how to get through roadblocks so my hours are still good.

What line of work did you get into after?
I went from the dealership to being a mechanic at Chrysler Engineering. Took a pay cut initially to go there. (Except when you factor in the benefits)
Never had a bad day there when compared to the dealership. Best break I ever got in my working life.

I went from the dealership to being a mechanic at Chrysler Engineering. Took a pay cut initially to go there. (Except when you factor in the benefits)
Never had a bad day there when compared to the dealership. Best break I ever got in my working life.