Wiring Rock Lights

Karl

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
100
Location
Vancouver Canada
Hi all.
I got some rock lights for free as long as I review them. So I’ll give them a go.
I’m iffy with wiring. I have no extra lights wired in. Do I need to ground these? Can I put them into the fuse box or does it have to be right on to the battery? I’d rather send them into the fuse box. I think anything into the fuse box is grounded.
Anyway, there was only the two loops with a fuse in the wire line out of the Bluetooth control hub, as pictured.

Be gentle on me.

AD24D909-1212-4AA3-A709-B4A5310173E9.jpeg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tj Starting

creecer

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2019
Messages
20
Location
Woodstock, GA
Orange wire would go to the positive side of the battery, black to ground or negative on battery. There should be an inline fuse in that black tube. Is there a relay with the wiring harness, or is that it? If you are just doing a review, I would go straight to the battery and use a simple switch setup. If you are going to keep them long term, then I would put the work in to mount it the right way.

A picture of the rest of the wiring would be helpful.
 
OP
Karl

Karl

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
100
Location
Vancouver Canada
Orange wire would go to the positive side of the battery, black to ground or negative on battery. There should be an inline fuse in that black tube. Is there a relay with the wiring harness, or is that it? If you are just doing a review, I would go straight to the battery and use a simple switch setup. If you are going to keep them long term, then I would put the work in to mount it the right way.

A picture of the rest of the wiring would be helpful.
Did a little homework. I guess red to the red bolt outside the fuse box then black to any part of the frame to ground it.
I’m definitely putting the work in
 

Jeepin' Geo

New Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
14
Location
California
What’s the Bluetooth used for? ON-OFF, color control?

Have you put 12vdc to them yet? I’d do that and measure current draw as well. But regardless of the current I’d use a relay to minimize current through the in-cab switch.

Been thinking about adding rock lights. Are you ready to give more info on the set you’re evaluating?
 

jjvw

Now 100% Metalcloak free
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2018
Messages
10,496
Location
Colorado, USA
....

Been thinking about adding rock lights. Are you ready to give more info on the set you’re evaluating?
Look on Amazon for outdoor sign LEDs. There are cheap and work the same as "rock lights" if you don't need blue tooth or changeable colors.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DrDmoney
OP
Karl

Karl

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
100
Location
Vancouver Canada
So there's no in cab switch. They are Blutooth to a remote, or to an app you download for your phone. I got them working, then parked my car and waited for dark. After dark I drove to the darkest spot I could find....nothing. They never turned back on. Still haven't. I disconnected and reconnected everything. Nothing. I know the blutooth signal is working cause it's also fucking with my radio station that I often listen to.

Probably going to rip it out tomorrow and throw it out. Over it.
 
  • Sad
Reactions: Tj Starting

m9199

VibraJeeper
Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2019
Messages
101
Location
Santa Cruz, CA
So there's no in cab switch. They are Blutooth to a remote, or to an app you download for your phone. I got them working, then parked my car and waited for dark. After dark I drove to the darkest spot I could find....nothing. They never turned back on. Still haven't. I disconnected and reconnected everything. Nothing. I know the blutooth signal is working cause it's also fucking with my radio station that I often listen to.

Probably going to rip it out tomorrow and throw it out. Over it.
Bluetooth shouldn't interfere with the radio station at all. The technologies are on way different parts of the spectrum. There's probably something else going on there.
 

toximus

TJ Expert
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
3,629
Location
Northern WI
Would there be any benefits with splitting up the ground wires? Talk about cable management...
The ground needs to carry the same amps as the positive wire. Each wire for my rock lights is good for about 3a in case I ever change which lights are at the ends. I could have used a single larger ground wire between the lights or put the grounds into the chassis closer to the lights. Another option would have been using a common positive wire between the lights off a single fuse but if one wire got pinched all of the lights would stop working until I fixed it. I ultimately decided that running separate grounds for each light was the cleanest and easiest to modify in the future. That said, I don't love how all of the grounds stacked from a visual perspective...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fouledplugs

Apparition

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
433
Location
Twin Cities, MN
For my rock lights I used a terminal block which I wired all positives to one side and all negatives to the strip on the other side.

Then I ran both wires from the terminal strip to my sPod.

Used the lux magnetic rock lights, extremely easy install.

Hardly use them but you should have seen the Harley riders face when he was cruising around with his effects lights on when I flipped the switch on mine, it was the 4th of July it had to be done.

this is the one I used

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0055HOK7C/?tag=wranglerorg-20
 

jjvw

Now 100% Metalcloak free
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2018
Messages
10,496
Location
Colorado, USA
Mine are wired in series with 4 main zones. The lights branch off of a zone to make a cluster around each tire.