Does airing down an E-rated tire lead to abnormal wear patterns?

bedhed

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Help me understand this.

As you all are aware, running the recommended 45+ psi in a E rated tire makes for a bone-jarring ride. I've been running MTs for several years now and keeping them at 25psi, but I'm ready to change over to ATs. My question is, when we run an E-rated tire on our Jeeps, does airing down like this lead to abnormal wear patterns? Strictly speaking of highway driving.

I can understand how keeping a tire deflated like this would cause problems when the tire is installed on a larger vehicle, because it's heavier. But, I can't wrap my brain around this being a problem when they are used on a lighter vehicle.

My brain has me seeing it this way:
Lighter vehicle = less sidewall compression.

Less air pressure = mimicked sidewall compression. More of what it would experience with a heavier vehicle.

Thus, deflating to 25-30psi wouldn't have much of an affect on wear patterns.

It's been explained to me, and said to be wrong thinking, but I'm still not grasping it. I keep resorting to the thinking that I just mentioned.

Exactly where did you hear that 45 psi is recommended? 45 psi is way too high for any tire we'd ever mount onto a Jeep. Also, a Load Range E is way too stiff for our Wrangler TJs anyway, a Load Range C is what's appropriate.

What size tires are you running?

And if you got that 45 psi indication from the tire's sidewall, that only indicates the maximum safe air pressure for the tire. That in no way indicates what pressure the tire should actually be run at. The correct tire pressure varies by the vehicle weight.