Nucking Futserts!!!

Imagineer

Rant of the day . . . Nucking Futserts!!! (or 5 out of six can’t be bad, right?)

I finally had an afternoon cut away the welded slid plate, patch the frame and install new threaded nutserts.

I followed the internet advice for swedging the inserts; first torqueing them to 40, then 60, then 80 ft/lbs. Just my luck, one of them (the middle one, passenger side) failed at 40 ft/lbs and the threaded barrel pulled straight through. Since I welded each to the frame patch before torqueing, I’m pretty much screwed. So two questions…

Is it ok to leave the skid plate attached at only 5 points? (as a mechanical engineer, I think, yes, it will be fine).

If more of these little f*ckers decide to break, is it taboo to hole saw the inside of the frame rail at each fastener to provide access for a through bolt and nut? I would weld additional reinforcing at the hole saw locations and also install rubber body panel plugs to keep crap out.

Reactions: Stinger
Rant of the day . . . Nucking Futserts!!! (or 5 out of six can’t be bad, right?)

I finally had an afternoon cut away the welded slid plate, patch the frame and install new threaded nutserts.

I followed the internet advice for swedging the inserts; first torqueing them to 40, then 60, then 80 ft/lbs. Just my luck, one of them (the middle one, passenger side) failed at 40 ft/lbs and the threaded barrel pulled straight through. Since I welded each to the frame patch before torqueing, I’m pretty much screwed. So two questions…

Is it ok to leave the skid plate attached at only 5 points? (as a mechanical engineer, I think, yes, it will be fine).

If more of these little f*ckers decide to break, is it taboo to hole saw the inside of the frame rail at each fastener to provide access for a through bolt and nut? I would weld additional reinforcing at the hole saw locations and also install rubber body panel plugs to keep crap out.