Pre-paint modifications, new cab corners and rockers write-up

Leinhit

TJ Enthusiast
Hello all,

Just a quick posting in case anyone else is interested as I did not find information before I started.

I am not a mechanic or a body man however I am mechanically inclined. I realize many of you will have a Cousin Vinny or something similar that does this for a living and could do a better job than me. That said "f"your Cousin Vinny and the horse he rode in on. [emoji16]

I am about to paint my 2001 TJ , I plan on going a sand color with black Rust-Oleum bed liner as a contrast in different areas such as the middle of the hood top of the doors Etc.

As such I needed to make some repairs to the body and fix a little rust here and there and my biggest concern was the rear passenger cab Corner.

It was dented in very badly by the previous owner as you can see in the pictures.

So first thing I did was find my way to get behind the damaged corner and start hitting it with a heavy Hammer which was difficult because there was not a lot of room to swing.

I managed to bang most of it out and I was fairly happy with the results I probably could have just left it at that.

I then primed over the bare metal and then Painted black over it as a protectant.

I was initially looking at getting a new cab corners however I was dismayed at the $100 price for a couple plastic Corners.

I wanted either aluminum or steel but I was surprised at how expensive cab corners were in steel or aluminum at nearly $200 for a pair.

I then came across these "Paramount" cab corner restyling pieces on amazon.com. The cab corners which actually extend all the way to front of the rear wheel wells were much less price than Smittybilt and not much more than just plastic cab corners.

I am fairly impressed when they came they are nearly 35 lb each very heavy steel.