Pre-purchase inspections. How $150 can save you thousands.

Moab

TJ Expert
Supporting Member
Pre-purchase inspections of a Jeep can save you thousands. They aren't always perfect. But better than having someone simply test drive it with or for you:

I usually don't buy a car without getting a dealer inspection done first. It costs around $150. And they go thru the entire car and give you a report of everything that needs to be fixed. I work on my own cars from time to time. But I'm no mechanic. I know my limitations. MAke sure they pull all the engine codes too.

This has saved me time and again. I shopped long and hard for my sons Honda two years ago. And my own Yukon. ARound the same time. And several cars in the past 20 years. And I avoided several vehicles that had more wrong with them than the sales price. Simply by spending $150 on a vehicle inspection - on a vehicle that your going to spend 10k plus on. Or even more.

Having said that. And with full disclosure in mind. I just got kind of screwed over on my last one for this Jeep I just bought. They missed a code and subtle transmission issue that may cause me to have it rebuilt. So take someone with you when you pick up the Jeep. Someone knowledgeable. Maybe even your personal mechanic. Or even have your personal mechanic do the inspection. It doesn't matter who you have do the inspection as long as you trust them. And they have enough of an advanced shop to inspect everything.

I just usually went to the Dealership as I depended on their greed for identifying things needing repair. So they could get the job after of replacing everything. I'm not saying screw every seller into paying for every dealer cost repair that comes up. But if you want to know absolutely EVERYTHING that's wrong with the car. You generally can't go wrong with a dealer inspection. And on my last Jeep I cut the dealer cost of repairs by about 30-50%. Because that's probably about the actual price of the repair at a normal shop.