1" Lift Options

JM_TJ

TJ Enthusiast
My suspension is sagging big time on my '06 TJ so it's excuse to sort the suspension. It's my daily driver so the majority of the time I'm driving it on the road. I do still take it for some moderate off roading but nothing crazy so I thought a 1" lift will be handy while not messing with on road performance. I've been doing some research on here and it seems like the general consensus for what my needs are would be the Rancho 5000x and 1"H&R Springs. Thoughts on this set up? Any photos would be great. Also, I'm debating about putting a 3/4" spacer in the front the balance the rake. As you can tell I'm a beginner at all this but apart from aesthetics what are the pros and cons of adjusting the rake? Final question, what else do I need but when doing the suspension other than the shocks and springs? Do I need a new bump stop? Sway Bar? Bushings?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Thanks, I need new springs anyways so thought it might be best to get the lift from the new springs I'm putting in?
You could do that, yes. Still, the fact that the factory springs are the only true progressive rate springs out there isn’t a bad thing 👍

You could do that, yes. Still, the fact that the factory springs are the only true progressive rate springs out there isn’t a bad thing 👍
For sure, but I thought they don't make the original springs new anymore? These defo need replacing.

I just did the 1" H&R with Rancho RS5000X on my '98 with 125,000 miles on the stock suspension. Obviously, I have nothing else to compare it to, but freaking love how it turned out. I know everyone reports some different results in the lift gained, but I saw about an inch and a half gain. I didn't change or add anything else except for now jounce bumpers to replace the old ones that were basically gone.

It now has the stance I've always loved with a TJ and factory Grizzly wheels and 31 BFG KO2's

IMG_3172.JPG

IMG_3175.JPG

Stock with 235/75-15 tires
IMG_3105.JPG