1970 CJ rotting away

R49

Forum odd guy
Lifetime Supporting Member
E9CBAE46-7E2B-48F6-9372-4B0BCF05707D.jpeg

So I’ve been driving by this old CJ on my way to work for 5 years now. Last summer I saw the older gentleman sitting on his porch so I pulled in and said hello and inquired if he was willing to sell. Before he could answer, his wife came out and said flat out no it’s not for sale at any price. They bought it brand new in 1970 and it has sentimental value to them. While I respect their not wanting to sell, it just sucks that it’s just sitting there deteriorating.

That's very common with old cars and trucks. At least that one is sitting up on a trailer where it can "breath" and not down in the dirt like many wind up. I've seen and offered to buy a few cars over the years that were worth saving, but the owners wouldn't sale, even thought it was obvious they couldn't afford to do anything with it. It's usually the dream of "some day". Hell, there was a '61 Impala near me that I tried to buy a few times, but the owner who was in prison for an extended stay just wouldn't let it go.

I know these people without knowing them. If you really want that Jeep, I suggest you strike up a sincere, legitimate relationship with them. They have real sentimental value in it and want to know who the next caretaker is. Otherwise, they might take it to the grave with them, figuratively and literally.

Not necessarily. They probably have other, more important "life" things to worry about, or maybe they're to a point in life where they physically can't drive it. Point is, life happens, and some things get pushed aside.
That Jeep is in rough shape. Sure they’re probably clinging to some old memories they had in it, but let’s not kid ourselves. If that Jeep actually meant something to them, it would have been somewhat preserved instead of left to rot in the yard.