All Terrain vs Mud Terrain for Daily Driver

TJim

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Hey guys!

My TJ is my Daily driver, but I also offroad it as much as I can.

My plan is to run 31" KO2s.

Many people in my local area though have suggested me to run Cooper STT Pro. They have also mentioned that it is not worth it to run an All terrain tire. What should I do?

In general, an A/T performs better on paved roads, wet roads, ice and snow. A M/T performs better in mud and rocks. I would also say that an A/T performs better in mud and rocks than a M/T does on wet roads, snow and ice.

I had AT tires once (BFG). I prefer the look and performance of MT tires offroad for mud , deep snow and everything else. I've never had any problems on the street in any driving conditions (rain, snow, sleet, ice) either. I drive for a living, so I have to drive for hours in all weather conditions or lose my job. I have around 12,000 miles on my current MTs and they still look great.
p.s. The brand of either tire makes a difference too. I bought cheap MTs many years ago and they sucked on and off road. Ridiculously loud too. (Ice, sleet pic below).
Rubi tire1.jpg

Rubi ice 3.jpg

Last edited:
After moving from The Monterey Bay California to the INW Washington state I learned that mud tires absolutely SUCK on snow covered roads
They do look better than AT's but looks don't count for much when your sliding sideways on an icy road
I don't mind the MT's on dry paved roads

Reactions: TJim
Hey guys!

My TJ is my Daily driver, but I also offroad it as much as I can.

My plan is to run 31" KO2s.

Many people in my local area though have suggested me to run Cooper STT Pro. They have also mentioned that it is not worth it to run an All terrain tire. What should I do?

KO2s do well on and off road. Less noise also.

What % is your DD vs off-road use? and what kind of terrain is your off-road use?